Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 61 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Search

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#62374 - 08/20/02 09:32 PM finally ready for baby!!!  
New2toos Offline
New2toos  Offline

Crestline, Ca
Hi all,
I'm new to this BB, and toos of course.
I'm sure I, like many teenage girls, fell in love with "Fred" on "Baretta". I've always wanted a too, but I knew I was not able to provide the home it would've required. I was in the military for awhile. Could you imagine leaving your bird in quarantine for a year?...NOT.

Well anyways for the last year I've been looking for my baby bird... actually now I'm looking for a teenager. I have read all the info at "mytoos" and followed the links into oblivion. After reaing all the rescue stories I think that is the way to go. I really don't want to add to the supply and demand for hand fed babies.
I have a problem though. I'm too far out of Los Angeles to qualify due to the home visits. I have looked all over So Cal and I don't seem to fit into anyone's area. If anyone knows of a rescue/adoption agency in the Inland Empire could you share the info with me? I plan to go to the show in Pomona this weekend...maybe I'll find a teenager that needs a good home there.

I have had the opportunity to purchase several hand fed babies, but they were all unweaned. As a nurse I could only guess at the implications that could arise out of that situation. When I read the stories of all the complications I wasn't surprised. I have also found a few weaned, but I'm glad I found this site before I did that. I was fighting back tears as I saw the photos and read the stories. My God how absolutely disgusting what some folks have done to these gorgeous animals.