Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Search

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#51766 - 09/11/05 08:12 AM Weak feet  
Linus&Nancy Offline
Linus&Nancy  Offline

Asheville, NC
I have an 8 month old Umbrella cockatoo. I am wondering if it is normal for them to have slightly weak feet. I have been used to dealing with a 10 year old female umbrella..that has quite the grip.. but the 8 month old more or less "balances" rather than grips. Is this normal? or something i should be concerned about.. ?

#51767 - 09/11/05 03:50 PM Re: Weak feet  
nanis mom Offline
nanis mom  Offline

NJ
I am not an expert, but it took my M2 a while to develop balance, perching, stepping up, and gripping, but at 8 months she was doing quite well. Possibly they all develop differently and at different rates. Hopefully someone else will be able to answer your question better.

#51768 - 09/11/05 03:55 PM Re: Weak feet  
flowerchild Offline
Lives Here
flowerchild  Offline
Lives Here

New England
i've been considering the situation from the opposite perspective. pedro (dyha,with me 20 yrs) rests on my arm wtih complete confidence, joey (lsc, with me 17 mo) has a death grip, nails very sharp, (though they were recently trimmed.) it seems to me that pedro feels safe with me and has no fear of falling. she flies well, even with clipped wings she can control the glide. joey, i believe, is used to being clipped so severely that she never learned to fly well, and her fear of falling is very intense. i have let her wings grow out, recently doing a very limited clip, encouraging her to use her wings. i hope she feels more secure as time goes on. maybe your baby just feels less threatened. is the older bird more insecure in general? i don't think his feet are weak, he holds things well, right? that seems to be the biggest difference in mine, though this is just speculation on my part. anyone else have thoughts on this?