Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 11 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Search

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#259839 - 07/07/16 06:57 PM A question about wings clipping  
BirdieGirlCA Offline
BirdieGirlCA  Offline

Hello All,

I have 8 birds but only one is a Cockatoo (Bare-Eyed). I am a Photographer who spends many hours a day at home at my computer editing in the same room as my feathered babies so they spent about 4-6 hours per day outside their cages playing on play perches, chewing toys and cuddling up to me. I have one concern though and that is, that the only bird that can fly around the house is my Cockatoo. He does it when I leave the room because he wants to follow me. I have all mirrors covered and windows covered for his safety but he still flies into walls. I am so worried he will seriously injure himself.

Any idea how to work on this issue? Is wing clipping my only option?

Last edited by BirdieGirlCA; 07/07/16 06:58 PM.
#259844 - 07/07/16 11:24 PM Re: A question about wings clipping [Re: BirdieGirlCA]  
EchosMom Offline
EchosMom  Offline

Chained to the Computer

Florida, USA
Have you discussed this with your AV? Perhaps there is a problem with his sight. I have flighted birds and we've had a few sloppy landings from time to time, but they have never flown into walls!!

Birds are angels who lift us up when our own wings forget how to fly.

"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful committed citizens can change the world - indeed it is the only thing that ever has!" ~~~ Margaret Meade ~~~

Noelle, A Rehabilitation in Progress
#259846 - 07/07/16 11:56 PM Re: A question about wings clipping [Re: BirdieGirlCA]  
RB2sMom Offline
Lives Here
RB2sMom  Offline
Lives Here

Lilburn, GA
Hannah my RB2 was flying into things when we first let her clipped wings grow out...she had never learned to fly. It took her months to be able to fly and land correctly.

Susanne
Our flock: 2 RB2s