Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 48 guests, and 2 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Search

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#259066 - 11/23/15 05:26 AM Need some diet advice, please!  
BigWill1985 Offline
BigWill1985  Offline

Virginia Beach, VA
I just adoped a Sulfer Crested Cockatoo, after an old man a friend of mine knew passed away. Nobody had ANY experience with large birds aside from me, and the caretaker of the property put her up on Craigslist. Luckily, she never sold so she has been given to me. I am not an Avian Expert, but I have cared for a U2 for around a year while she waited for a forever home.

Anyway, this bird (named Angel) was cared for by a gentleman and a lady who had absolutely no experience with birds. She has only eaten a diet of seeds for the last 14 years. She did get treats, but that pretty much consisted of whatever the man ate for dinner (I was told that she loved cheese and cooked chicken).

I just picked her up today, and got a massive collection of different kinds of bird seeds. I am wanting to transition her to a diet of pellets with fresh fruits and veggies. The caretaker of the property said she hates pellets and anything dehydrated.

How do you recommend I shift her away from seed to pellets?

Also, she has drank from a water bottle (like one for a hamster). The caretaker said she had to do that since Angel would make a bird soup out of her water bowl. Is that ok for a cockatoo?