Disclaimer
Please note that I am not an avian veterinarian and I am not an expert on cockatiels. I am sharing my own experience with my own cockatiels in preventing and controlling egg laying spanning over twenty years. The best person to work with is a qualified, experienced avian veterinarian. This is not medical advice and is not intended to serve as a substitute for veterinary medical consultation.

For those in the NE USA it's hormone time for cockatiel hens. Mine are getting itchy and I'm removing anything which could be used as a 'mate' or a nest as well as anything providing too much cover such as happy huts, those hanging tents. Back off on handling and don't even give crest scritches for the next 3 months. I don't know about other parts of the USA or the rest of the world but for Northeasterners it's hormonal time and time to start environmental therapies and considerations to either prevent egg laying or keep it to a normal number of eggs which is almost always three to six.

If you are keeping on lights more than about an hour after it's dark out please don't. If you are handling daily to include lots of time with the tiel hen on your body, be it your shoulder or arm limit tiel hen on body to only a couple minutes maximum a couple times a week.

Change around the inside of the cage. Rearrange most of the perches and toys. Save moving the cage to a different spot in the living room or to another room for down the road.

Diversion is good but also don't do so much drastic diversion at once that you frighten the tiel hen.

The goal is to keep them just slightly confused in a happy new way not an all out shock diversion.

Cockatiel hens are more likely to lay when they are very content and settled and by environmental diversion she's less likely to lay and if she does lay more likely to lay a normal size clutch.