Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 80 guests, and 5 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Search

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#157774 - 03/14/08 04:28 AM Hormones or Simply Play?  
Crossfire Offline
Lives Here
Crossfire  Offline
Lives Here

Indiana
As are many 'Toos during this time of year our Katie ( U2 ) has been pretty hormonal and although she has settled down some compared to previously ( laid an egg awhile back ) I'm curious if her current behavior should be chalked up to hormones or simply her way of playing with her toy. We've only know one another since October so I have no previous experiences of lots of play time to fall back on. Any and all opinions are welcome.

I've experienced the typical "chicken scratching" over the years with other birds but this doesn't seem to be the same. Katie has a favorite toy, a baby rattle thats brightly colored, it makes a ton of noise when shaken and she can easy grab it. For the past two weeks Katie has been taking this rattle to the play top of her cage, she throws it around a bit and then works it towards a corner by pushing it with her beak, once in the corner she bites, kicks and does everything she can until she works the rattle into a corner.

Once the rattle is in the corner she takes great pleasure in kicking it, putting it in her beak and sliding it from side to side so it bangs against the sides of the top in that corner. The louder she can get it to bang around the more she seems to enjoy it and she'll literally keep herself busy with this for a good hour or more. Now a happy and content Cockatoo is a beautiful thing but I want to be sure that this isn't more than just play.

No real panting to speak of when she does this, she does pant a little but it seems more due to being out of breath from hard play with a stuffy nose since shes still getting over a really nasty bout of sinusitus.

I would rather have a mind opened by wonder than one closed by belief.

~ Sonja & Katie U2 ~